No items found.

Sports Awards

Save the date: Sports Awards event, Friday 19 August 2016

The University of Newcastle Sports Awards are an important part of the University's history and reflect the ongoing commitment NUsport has to providing high quality services and facilities. The first University College Blues were presented in 1955, with the Blues Association later forming 4 July 1967, after autonomy. Our history of sporting successes is evident with the number of past students who have achieved Olympic, Commonwealth and World University games honours. The successes of the past continue to inspire those of current and future student athletes.

Sports Person Of The Year
Sports Club Of The Year
Sports Team of the Year
Sports Scholarships
Sports Laureates Association

Outstanding sporting achievement honoured by University, 28 August 2015

Download 50 years of Sporting History at the University of Newcastle

Matthew Graham has been named the 2014 Sports Person of the Year by the University of Newcastle.

Graham who established himself as one of the world's leading mogul skiers was among 21 students, past and present and four University Sports Clubs honoured at the prestigious university of Newcastle Sports Awards.

Australian Winter Olympic Athlete, atthew Graham is currently completing a Bachelor of Engineering (Civil) and Bachelor of Business double degree.  Matt finished the 2014/15 season ranked an impressive fourth in the world which included winner his first medal (Silver) at the 2015 FIS Freestyle Ski World Cup in Deer valley, Utah.

The Sports Club of the Year was awarded to the Newcastle University Diving & Exploration Society (N.U.D.E.S) for their attainment of high standards in sports administration.

Rhali Dobson (football), Nicola Metcalfe (rowing), Matthew Graham (snow skiing - moguls), Cassandra van Breugel (swimming) and Shaun Swadling (trampoline sports) joined more than 200 of Australia's greatest athletes, academics and business people when they were awarded the prestigious University Blue for demonstrating outstanding sporting ability when representing the University of Newcastle.

For making an outstanding contribution to the administration and organisation of University sport, University Colours were awarded to Graham Campbell (rugby union), Eliza Varela (hockey) and Merran Holmes (rowing).

The University and Friends of the University presented eight sports scholarships to students with demonstrated potential currently balancing their academic and sporting pursuits.  The Friends of the University Scholarship was awarded to Ella-Rose Hugo (archery).  The recipients of the University scholarships were Alicia Kier (athletics), Alicia MacDonald (cycling), Elisabeth Hulin (equestrian), Emma McDonald (swimming), Matthew George (tennis), Ryan Parker (water polo) and Jake Robinson (water polo).

As part of the celebration of 50 years of sport at the University of Newcastle, the inaugural Rugby Scholarships were presented, recognising the sport as a strong pillar in the University's wider community landscape.  The recipients of the Rugby Scholarships were Rylan Gibson, Thomas Bowcock, William Frost, Jack Mackenzie and Leo Manny.

The University of Newcastle Sports Awards recognise exceptional sporting achievement and are managed and presented by Newcastle University Sport (NUsport), which manages the health and fitness facilities, The Forum University and The Forum Harbourside.

NUsport CEO, Mr Chris Hicks, said the success of the University of Newcastle's past and present students clearly demonstrated the calibre of sports people from this region.

'Since1955 the University has presented sporting awards that represent world-class performance and excellence. The Sports Awards acknowledge the outstanding contribution, hard work and dedication of individuals, teams and the organisations behind them.' he said.

Click here to read about the 2014 Sports Awards winners announced in 2015